Uber and Lyft provide an excellent way to travel without high transportation costs. Unfortunately, the more rideshare drivers that get on the roadways, the higher the chance of accidents.
You need to understand how rideshare driver insurance coverage works to protect yourself and your property in the event of a collision. Schedule a meeting with a seasoned car crash attorney at Reaves Law Firm, PLLC to discuss Uber/Lyft/rideshare accidents in Jackson if you need help with a claim.
When accidents occur involving rideshare vehicles, it is vital to understand how insurance coverage works for those drivers. Many things differ from other motorists, and there are differences depending on which kind of rideshare driver the accident involves. Basic insurance requirements for Uber and Lyft are below.
Different coverage amounts depend on whether the driver has their app turned on or off. If the Uber app is on, but they are not transporting passengers, insurance coverage is as follows:
When the Uber driver accepts or is carrying a passenger, the insurance coverage increases to $1 million in total bodily injury coverage and $1 million in comprehensive liability coverage.
If the Lyft driver’s app is on, but they are not carrying passengers, the coverage includes:
If the Lyft driver accepts or is carrying a passenger, they have $1 million in insurance coverage per accident
The injured person’s insurance policy may have to cover the remaining balance if the rideshare insurance policy does not provide enough coverage. An attorney experienced with Jackson Uber/Lyft/rideshare crashes could answer questions regarding specific coverage amounts during an initial consultation.
While it is always the best decision to contact the police immediately after any auto accident, the law requires that drivers in Mississippi report the wreck within ten days. According to The Mississippi Bar, motorists in Mississippi must provide a written accident report to the local police department within ten days of the collision when injuries or property damage exceed $250.
Any driver who fails to report the accident within ten days faces criminal conviction, including receiving a misdemeanor on their permanent criminal record. They could also face driver’s license suspension and steep fines. A Jackson Uber/Lyft/rideshare crash lawyer at Reaves Law Firm, PLLC could answer further questions on the state traffic laws and regulations.
As with all auto collisions, there is a deadline for filing a civil claim for damages after crashes with rideshare drivers. Under Mississippi Code § 15-1-49, a claimant has three years to file a lawsuit against Uber, Lyft, or other rideshare drivers. If the plaintiff does not know about their injuries immediately, they have three years from the day they reasonably discover their losses.
All automobile wrecks are traumatic events, and they are always inconvenient. When the collision involves rideshare drivers, there are many more things you must be aware of to ensure you receive the settlement amount you deserve from the negligent driver and their insurance provider.
Many factors will determine the total amount of insurance the rideshare company will cover. Schedule a consultation with a lawyer knowledgeable about Uber/Lyft/rideshare accidents in Jackson for more information or help with a case.